On the run

Image
A cunning young boy who was on the run
Like a fox being hunted with a gun
Breathing very heavily and darting
through the brush he
lost his footing in
a puddle of
mush
He fell and his arms stretched out
the mud splashed
on him and
he wanted
to shout
He held back his voice
in fear he’d be found
so he held back
and rested on
the ground
Once he caught his breath he did rise
He was wet and brown
but he wasn’t at
all surprised
He continued on at a fast walking pace
No reason to end up in the mud
again falling on
his face
He finally reached the clearing he was headed for
there was his mom coming out
the back door
As soon as she saw him
she said, you are lucky
this time young man
I was just coming
to look for you.
He smiled inside
and thought
I am
lucky
I ran
About kwicksand

Sinking in the quicksand of my thoughts. ~David Bowie
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the run

  1. Cubby says:

    The ending made me smile. You capture children and their priorities so well in your poem. Something about being covered in mud never appealed to me, but cats are pretty finicky about their grooming. Terrific read. 🙂

    • kwicksand says:

      Yeah me either. This was inspired by my little 8 yr old nephew. He is always running and covered in dirt.

  2. I really liked the playful nature of this poem!

Talk to me

