My new Job (not a poem)

Some of you may remember last week me talking about a new job in my poems and post. I just wanted to share a little bit about what I do and give some back ground info about myself. The job I am so proud to be at is working with Special Needs Adults. Most of them are Developmentally Disabled. The center is a called Creative Enrichment Center/Workshop. So to put it more simply it’s a Day Care for Adults. I am so blessed to have this opportunity to work here. I work 5 days a week off at 3:30 and off weekends. We also close for the week of Christmas. And have major holidays off. My background being a Nursing Assistant for a long time has meant working nights and most holidays. I am not a nurse or RN so most of the work I did was in nursing homes or home health care. This pays much more and gives me a more stable schedule. I am so happy and excited to have landed this job. Have tried to get into places like this before and they never panned out. Here are some of the beautiful people who I get to serve.

Image  Image  Image Image

About kwicksand

Sinking in the quicksand of my thoughts. ~David Bowie
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My new Job (not a poem)

  1. thoramcclean says:

    Hi. I worked for ten years as a supports coordinator who monitored services for the DD population in such settings. Those who love working with those with developmental disabilities, find the work fulfilling.

  2. sknicholls says:

    The joy found in lifting each other up! You are both blessed my friend.

  3. A wonderful platform for affirming and energizing the challenged. Congrats! Take a look at the following:
    http://momentsmidstream.blogspot.ca/2010/11/taught-by-needy.html

  4. congrats, needs filled on both ends of the stick make it complete, like a sphere of light revolving in the masses of the world loved.

  5. Geo Sans says:

    growing up
    our family often volunteered
    with people
    with
    developmental challenges
    ~
    their smiles
    pure happiness
    are so infectious
    ~
    congratulations !!!

  6. What a beautiful job, career, inner peace, caring, love, you have in this position. Blessings friend.

  7. Congratulations! My late sister was a special needs person, and I was always so impressed with the people who worked with her. You help means a lot to the families of these special needs adults too.

  8. Cubby says:

    I’m so happy for you. You have such a big and generous heart; it is wonderful to see you in an environment that will appreciate it.

  9. savioni says:

    Yes, so few are qualified out of passion to do such work, and so they are lucky to have you.

  10. kregianmiral says:

    Good for you. Nice to know that you are so blessed to be able help & earn at the same time. Keep at it! 🙂

    • kwicksand says:

      Yes I will. I worked at a similar place to this only for teens. It only ran in the summer…it was always my dream job I said. I always thought if camp just ran year round. And now it does for me. 🙂

Talk to me

