Boat Launch

ImageWhere I grew up there is a place
A station that’s near the water
The space is not the same
What was, is gone
without a
trace
What used to be was a lovely park
 Slide, swings and picnic tables
Now its man made rock
Concrete land
I want to
shirk
 Those who want to launch a boat
Love to come in the droves
They say its better than
Before and they
Love to
gloat
Me I miss the slides and picnics
Families and the smell of
Charcoal smoke with 
marshmellows
sitting on
 a stick
 
 
 
 
 
 
About kwicksand

Sinking in the quicksand of my thoughts. ~David Bowie
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Boat Launch

  1. Brian Hughes says:

    Most of my childhood has been destroyed and what’s left is being built on. Of course, the kids of today will look back at how the place is now when they get older and it’ll probably have changed again.

    • kwicksand says:

      I know all your poems made me think of this park that I miss so much! thanks so much for reading it and commenting! 🙂

  2. Cubby says:

    You know how to rock the boat! Very nice!

  3. So few boaters, so many displaced. Great poem and structure.

  4. mollygreye says:

    Love the format. I too have places where I grew up that were torn down and left either vacant or replaced with something. Great work.

  5. reminds me of much that I miss, too – the form here is quite impressive

Talk to me

