true story

ImageWe fell deeply in love in the winter of seventy five
I felt you inside of my heart and knew I had a sex drive
So tender and young my innocence was in danger
It was so very hard to control my behavior
I did what my momma said and never gave in
She told me if I did,  would be a mortal sin
In the summer you left me high and dry
 The next year was hard and oh did I cry
I am still not over you and I’m of old age
I thought long ago I would have turned that old page
What did momma know about me way back then
She knew nothing of me, how I was with men
 I have been married twice
The one now will suffice
If I would have gave you what you wanted back when
Would we have married and been together like then
The question still lingers in my body, and mind
You should have been my first,
you would have been sublime
 
About kwicksand

Sinking in the quicksand of my thoughts. ~David Bowie
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to true story

  1. I love this poem!! A first love will always remain in your heart…so romantic:)

  2. Apurva says:

    beautiful words…touching poem! 🙂

  3. Cubby says:

    Ah love the poem. Full of wistful longing. Really beautiful. Reowr!

  4. katriter says:

    Don’t we all have that one that got away and could have/should have been our first and possibly last? Love it!

Talk to me

