The Man with the Specs

The Man with the Specs

There was this tall guy who lived on my same street
Devon Jones, and he was thought to be elite
He always had on his great big black specs
The look on his face was always perplexed
Reading while he walked no matter how near or far
Even if it was just getting into his car
Books and newspapers all stacked up in a big bunch
I bet he wanted to have some to read with lunch
No one knew what he did for his job
Some even said he was a big snob
As for me, now, I think Devon is quite cute
Nothing about him seemed to be a snoot
Behind his glasses I could see his baby blues
I think he read to keep up with the current news
Some day I will get the courage to give him a little chat
I might even try to entice with my fancy hippie hat
Some of you think this is one of my made up tales
Names have been change but he was a true male
It took many years but we finally did speak
Boy up close he was cute and had a fine physique
Devon Jones was no snoot, he was just shy
Ya want to know how it ends?
I married this guy!

About kwicksand

Sinking in the quicksand of my thoughts. ~David Bowie
Image | This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Man with the Specs

  1. Cubby says:

    Aw, that is so nice! Shy guys are the best in my opinion. πŸ™‚

  2. emma1951.wordpress.com says:

    Wonderful…!

  3. Johnny Ojanpera says:

    Sweet. πŸ™‚

Talk to me

